Beach Permits for Kauai Weddings
Here is the summary of the rules for getting a beach permit for your wedding:
For the full text of the Hawaiian regulations, click here
In order to hold a wedding on any beach in Hawaii, a “Right-of-Entry” permit (beach permit) must be obtained and be present at all times (including set up) during the event.
A professional wedding planner, minister or officiant, photographer or other applicable vendor (“Applicant”) must apply for and have present this beach permit at any event held on any beach in Hawaii. Listed below are rules and guidelines. A complete list of the rules are available for review at https://dlnr.ehawaii.gov/permits/terms.html
Timing: The set-up, event, and restoration of the area or premises shall be limited to the date and time provided by the Applicant, which in no event shall exceed two hours.
Insurance Required: Applicant shall procure a policy of comprehensive public liability insurance in an amount of at least $300,000 per incident and $500,000 aggregate insuring the State of Hawaii against all claims for personal injury, death, and property damage.
NO ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES SHALL BE SERVED OR PERMITTED IN THE RIGHT-OF-ENTRY AREA OR PREMISES.
Rights of the Public: Applicant shall not engage in any activity that may obstruct, impede, or interfere with the public use of the surrounding area or any public access to the area.
Banned Items: Including but not limited to the following: arches or bowers; amplified instruments; altars; tables; chairs; kahilis; tents and or tarps; event signage of any type including banners; kiosks or carts; stanchions, posts, ropes or similar equipment for the purpose of demarcation of the right-of-entry area.
Acceptable Items: loose flowers, leis, bouquets, corsages or boutonnieres; unamplified musical instruments, including a conch shell; doves or butterflies for releases; a limited number of chairs as strictly necessary for the support of elderly, infirm, or disabled persons attending the event(s); cameras and camera equipment; other non-obtrusive hand-carried wedding accessories; small podium or cake stand, not to exceed three feet square in size
Violations of one or more permit conditions may result in administrative action, imposition of fine(s) up to Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000), and the rejection of future right-of-entry applications.